Posted On November 8, 2016 By In City And 729 Views

Congress petitions Governor against Secretariat razing

Hyderabad: Telangana Congress leaders on Monday met Governor E S L Narasimhan and submitted him a memorandum opposing the TRS government’s move to construct a new Secretariat by demolishing the existing buildings. “We have conveyed our opposition to the Governor about the construction of a new Secretariat by demolishing the present buildings. We urged him to tell the government that it is not a correct decision to demolish the building and construct a new one. We also told him that it will be a waste of Rs 350 crore (for construction of new building),” Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee President N Uttam Kumar Reddy told reporters after a meeting with the Governor. The TRS government is planning to build a new Secretariat, reportedly after demolishing the existing buildings. The State Congress president had earlier written a letter to the Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao conveying his party’s opposition to the construction of new Secretariat after bringing down the existing structures. “As President of the Telangana Pradesh Congress Party, I wish to convey that your government decision to demolish the present Secretariat complex and construct a new complex at a huge cost of hundreds of crores of rupees is not a judicious decision and is a mere waste of hundreds of crores of precious tax payers money,” Uttam Kumar Reddy had said in a letter to KCR last week. Several blocks in the present Secretariat had been constructed in recent times, he had said. He had found fault with the State government allegedly citing ‘vaastu’ defects as the reason for allegedly deciding to demolish the buildings. The TPCC President said it was astonishing that the Advocate General has submitted to the High Court that the present Secretariat complex failed to meet fire safety regulation. How come Rao and the Chief Ministers in undivided Andhra Pradesh had functioned from the same Secretariat if the buildings did not meet fire safety standards, he asked. The delegation l comprised senior leaders K Jana Reddy, Mohd Ali Shabbir, D K Aruna, Vamshichand Reddy, T Jeevan Reddy, Danam Nagender and Anjan Kumar Yadav.


Loading Google+ Comments ...